University of Zululand - school image

University Of Zululand

Department of Computer Science

The Computer Science Department offers 6 double-major BSc programmes with our partner departments.The double-major programmes on offer are Computer Science with Applied Mathematics, Mathematics, Statistics, Physics, Chemistry or Hydrology. The undergraduate Computer Science curriculum comprises major topics such as Programming, Software Engineering, Databases, Data Structure and Networking.

The Department offers a dedicated undergraduate laboratory where lectures and practical sessions can be held. As a result of our student’s exposure to industry-relevant topics, our graduates are competitive in the marketplace and ever increasing numbers are involved with mobile application development start-ups.

We also offer focused post-graduate programmes with BSc Honours, MSc and PhD in Computer Science. Our postgraduate students are offered 4 workspaces for their research activities. Research in the Department is conducted under the auspices of a Telkom Centre of Excellence. The Centre presently conducts research in the fields of Mobile Computing, Cloud Computing and Wireless Ad hoc Networks.